Kentucky Epsilon
Berea College
2003-2004 Chapter Report


Advisor and Officers

Advisor: Professor Dollena S. Hawkins

President: Heather K. Barton

VicePresident: Crystal Burns

Secretary: Huy Nguyen

Number of New Members Inducted:


Number of Continuing Members:


Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present a paper at the PME national meeting at MathFest in Providence, Rhode Island?


Describe the two most interesting or unusual chapter activities this year:

1. The Kentucky Epsilon Chapter sponsored six students and three faculty to attend the Thirty-first Annual Miami University Conference in Mathematics and Statistics, Oxford, Ohio. Five students prensented papers at the Pi Mu Epsilon Student Conference held in conjuction with the Miami Conference. Three of the presenters were inducted into PME this spring.

2. The spring induction program included a talk, "Numbers are Not Created Equal" by Lynn J. Soporowski, Transportation Engineering Branch Manager, Division of Multimodal Programs, Kentucky Transportation Department, Frankfort, KY.

Do you have any news about current students or recent graduates? For example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences. :

Heather K. Barton, a senior math and political science major, received the Abdul Rifai award from the Kentucky Political Science Association. Barton received this award for her work, "Political Participation and College Students: The Case of Berea College." This award, named after a current Berea professor of political science, is presented to the student with the best undergraduate paper and presentation.

Heather K. Barton was initiated into Phi Kappa Phi.

Heather K. Barton received the Berea College 2004 Blanton Prize in History and Political Science.

Heather K. Barton received the 2004 Berea College Seabury Award. Seabury Awards are given to one male and one female graduating senior who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship as well as community leadership on the Berea campus. The awards are to provide aid for graduate study or travel.

Jacquelyn M. Hostler was inducted into the German Honor Society, Delta Phi Alpha.

Jacquelyn M. Hostler was named to Mortar Board.

Jacquelyn M. Hostler received the 2004 Waldemar Noll Prize in Physics presented to the senior physics major with the highest scholastic standing in the major field. The prize is established in memory of Dr. Waldemar Noll, former Professor of Physics at Berea College.

Jacquely M. Hostler was given the 2004 Senior Mathematics Award present to a senior mathematics major for excellence in that field at Berea College.

Novruz Bashirov received the Berea College 2004 Chin-Wang Prize for Economics.

Reck G. Mhango was named the Berea College 2004 Joel Dean Scholar. This honor is accorded with receiving the Joel Dean Scholarship in Economics granted each year to a graduating senior economics major for academic performance in the field.

Petar V. Rakocevic is pursuing graduate studies at the University of Arkansas.

Heather E. Wilson was initiated into Sigma Tau Delta, a national English honor society.

Katherine A. Panciera was awarded the senior Berea College Ballard-McConnell-Willis Mathematics Scholarship; and, Wayne C. Centers received the junior Berea College Ballard-McConnell-Willis Mathematics Scholarship. The Ballard-McConnell-Willis Mathematics Scholarships are given annually to students who demonstrate excellence in mathematics, upright moral character, potential for accomplishment, and an ability to instill in others an appreciation for mathematics.