Ohio Xi
Youngstown State University
2004-2005 Chapter Report


Advisor and Officers

Advisor: Professor Angela Spalsbury

President: Maria Salcedo

Vice President: Melissa Marshall

Secretary: Darcy Davis

Treasurer: Nicole Cunningham

Historian: Dave Gohlke

Webmaster: Ted Stadnik

Number of New Members Inducted:


Number of Continuing Members:

Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present a paper at the PME national meeting at MathFest in Albuquerque, New Mexico?


Describe the two most interesting or unusual chapter activities this year:

PME Book Sale - we collect used mathematics-related text books and sell them at low prices so that more people have easy access to higher learning in mathematics

Formal Dinner & Dance - we present our yearly awards at a formal banquet. It is interesting to see a lot of mathematicians (and a few engineers) dressed up for a nice social occasion, especially since dinner conversation includes eigenvectors and probability mass functions.

Do you have any news about current students or recent graduates? For example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences. :

MathFest 2005 (Providence) Paper Presenters:

Ted Stadnik (Best talk of the session)

Jeremy Hamilton (Best talk of the session)

Nicole Cunningham (Best undergraduate research project)

Steve Dinda

MAA Ohio Section Meeting 2005 (Muohio) Paper Presenters:

Tom Cochran

Darcy Davis

Steve Dinda

Melissa Marshall

Maria Salcedo

Jeremy Hamilton

William Lowell Putnam Test Top Scorers:

Dave Gohlke

Jeremy Hamilton

Ted Stadnik

COMAP awards:

Meritorious: Dave Gohlke, Maria Salcedo, Ted Stadnik

Honorable Mention: Travis Moore, Tom Cochran

Honorable Mention: Steve Dinda, Becky Grove, Darcy Davis

University Awards:

Nicole Cunningham - Karl Dykema Scholarship

Matt Goyder - Krotzer Scholarship

YSU Math Dept. Awards:

Tom Cochran - Outstanding Student (Math Education)

Jeremy Hamilton - George Wilcox Award (Education)

Jeremy Hamilton - B.J. Yozwiak Award (Mathematics)

Melissa Marshall - Goldstein Award (Statisics)

Ted Stadnik - Outstanding Senior Award (Mathematics)

Maria Salcedo - Outstanding Senior Award (Mathematics)

Keith Edenfield - Fitzsimon Scholarship

Summer Research 2005 Acceptances:

YSU SURE: Tom Cochran, Dave Gohlke

Hope College REU: Darcy Davis

UNL IMMERSE: Maria Salcedo, Ted Stadnik

Graduate School Acceptances:

Steve Dinda - BGSU, teaching assistanceship

Maria Salcedo - Purdue, GAANN fellowship

Ted Stadnik - Purdue, teaching assistanceship

Melissa Marshall - UAkron, teaching assistanceship

Teaching Position:

Jeremy Hamilton - Canfield High School