Ohio Nu
University of Akron
2006-2007 Chapter Report


Advisor and Officers

Advisors: Professors Laura K. Gross and Linda M. Saliga

President: Lisa Lackney

Vice-President: Melissa Merrill

Treasurer: Sara Rollo

Secretary: Lynn Adams

Associated Student Government Representative: Carey Childers

Number of New Members Inducted:


Number of Continuing Members:


Describe the two most interesting or unusual chapter activities this year:

We hosted a gathering with pizza, pie, and pi on Pi Day (3/14).

Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present a paper at the PME national meeting at MathFest in San Jose, California?


Do you have any news about current students or recent graduates? For example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences. :

President Lisa Lackney will attend graduate school at the University of Maryland.

Inductee Shawn Ryan received The University of Akron King Scholarship.

Inductees Diana Macavei received The University of Akron Selby Scholarship.

Inductees Megan McCormick and Patrick Starvaggi received The University of Maxwell Scholarship.

Inductee Brandon Rodgers received The University of Akron Professors Scholarship.

Member Katie Cerrone was hired to the faculty of The University of Akron's Summit College.