Connecticut Alpha
The University of Connecticut
2008-2009 Chapter Report

Advisor and Officers

Advisor: Gerald M. Leibowitz

Number of New Members Inducted:


Number of Continuing Members:


Describe the two most interesting or unusual chapter activities this year:

The Connecticut Alpha chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon inducted four new members during the annual Awards Day ceremonies of the Department of Mathematics of the University of Connecticut on April 16, 2009: Timothy Trangieu Bui (Junior, BS in Mathematics), Alexander V. Melesko (Senior, BS in Actuarial Science), Andrew Nelson Ph! illips (Junior, BS in Mathematics), and Carla Renee Wilson (Junior, BS in Mathematics). The chapter had no other activities in 2008-2009.

Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present a paper at the 2009 PME national meeting at MathFest in Portland, Oregon?


Do you have any news about current students or recent graduates, for example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences?

Christine McMeekin, who was inducted in 2008, is a recipient of an Oaklawn Scholarship for 2009-2010. This award is based on academic excellence and leadership. She is also president of the UConn Mathematics Club. David Ferrone, Ji Ha, and Carly Williams, who were inducted a few years ago, are continuing in graduate studies in Mathematics at the University of Connecticut.