Massachusetts Delta
University of Massachusetts Lowell
2008-2009 Chapter Report

Advisor and Officers

Advisor: Stephen Pennell

President: Andrew Bawn

Vice President: Andrew Balchunas

Secretary: Bryan Crompton

Treasurer: Thomas Harrington

Number of New Members Inducted:


Number of Continuing Members:


Describe the two most interesting or unusual chapter activities this year:

Our only activity this year was the induction ceremony. Prof. Dan Klain gave a great talk on the sum of the solid angles in a tetrahedron.

Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present a paper at the 2009 PME national meeting at MathFest in Portland, Oregon?


Do you have any news about current students or recent graduates, for example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences?

New inductees Bryan Crompton and Thomas Harrington received Arthur Zamanakos scholarships at the annual Department of Mathematical Sciences Awards Dinner on May 1.