Louisiana Beta
Southern University and A & M College
2011-2012 Chapter Report

Chapter: Louisiana Beta
Institution: Southern University And A&M College
Report Year: 2011-2012 Chapter Report
Advisor: Dr. Deborah L. Clark
Advisor's email address: teachlearners@yahoo.com
PFC's email address:

Officers: Past-President: Adrianna Guillory
Newly elected President: John Pierre' LaFleur
Secretary: Joseph Walker
Treasurer: Dr. D. L. Clark
PME Committee Co-Chair: Mr. Christopher Marshall
Advisor: Dr. Katrina Cunningham
Chapter URL:
Number of New Members: 2
Number of Continuing Members: 11
Describe the two most interesting or unusual chapter mathematical activities this year:
The Department of Mathematics held its 47th La. Beta Chapter Pi Mu Epsilon Induction Ceremony on April 4, 2012. We inducted two mathematics majors, John Pierre’ LaFleur, an undergraduate student, and Phaedra Wells, a graduate student, into the chapter. The induction ceremony was well attended with mathematics professors, parents & family of the inductees, and learners in and from the graduate and the undergraduate programs in Mathematics. A highlight of the afternoon was having Dr. Carla Denise Cotwright-Williams, a prior inductee of Louisiana Beta, as our guest speaker. Dr. Katrina Cunningham, Department Chair, gave closing remarks. La. Beta Chapter also held a 2011 fall meeting promoting scholarly activity in Mathematics by providing an opportunity for learners to become acquainted with Pi Mu Epsilon and for learner Phaedra Wells, pursuing her Masters at the time, to present a preview of her thesis entitled ‘Minimal Arc Lengths and Queen Dido’. The meeting and the presentation went very well with learners from mathematics classes, professors from the community and department, friends and family of Wells attending. Learner Wells’ thesis professor, Dr. Walfredo Javier, gave remarks.
Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present a paper at the 2012 PME national meeting at MathFest in Madison, Wisconsin?
We do have a member, our newly elected President, John Pierre’ LaFleur, who attended MathFest this year in Madison, Wisconsin. He is looking forward to presenting next year.
Do you have any news about current students or recent graduates? For example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences.
We proudly announce that learner T’Era Deon Hartfield, a 2011 inductee, is receiving her Master of Arts Degree in Mathematics Education from Louisiana State University (LSU) this summer. The American Mathematical Society (AMS) announced this spring that Dr. Carla Denise Cotwright-Williams was chosen as their Congressional Fellow for 2012-2013. Finally, 2012 inductee, John Pierre’ LaFleur, received the Meritorious Award from the Department of Mathematics at this spring’s SUBR Honors Day Awards Program, and was also elected President of Louisiana Beta Chapter for the upcoming school year.
If you were awarded a PME Lectureship, Conference, or Prize Grant within the past year, please briefly describe the results.