Massachusetts Eta
Fitchburg State College
2011-2012 Chapter Report

Advisor and Officers

Advisor: Mary Ann Barbato

President: Robert Patenaude

Vice-President: Jared Weed

Number of New Members Inducted: 2

Number of Continuing Members:


Describe the two most interesting or unusual chapter activities this year:

The following members presented talks or posters at the 2012 Fitchburg State Annual Undergraduate Conference on Research and Creative Practice: Nicholas Kallfa, Nicholas Starr, Nicole Gilford, Jeremy Bohrer, Haley Schilling, Robert Patenaude and Jared Weed. Our chapter also held problem solving sessions and submitted a solution to a Problem in the Math Horizons Magazine.

Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present a paper at the 2012 PME national meeting at MathFest in Madison, Wisconsin?


Do you have any news about current students or recent graduates, for example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences?

Robert Patenaude received the Fitchburg State Mathematics Department Scholarship Award and Jared Weed received the Fitchburg State Outstanding Mathematics Student of the Year Award. Our recent graduate and new Mass Eta member, Jeremy Bohrer has been accepted into Iowa State University Graduate Mathematics Program and will begin in Fall 2012. In addition, Robert Patenaude and Jared Weed gave a poster presentation at the Joint Mathematics Meetings of the AMS and MAA in Boston in January.

If you were awarded a PME Lectureship Grant, please briefly describe what took place during the councilor's visit.